The Triple Crown

The Triple Crown

Makenna Scott

The Triple Crown, in American horse racing, is a championship that is attributed to a three-year-old Thoroughbred that in a single season wins the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. It had long been considered one of the most coveted and celebrated achievements in all of sports, but with the sharp decline of horse racing’s popularity by the beginning of the 21st century, the Triple Crown became less prestigious in the eyes of the general sporting public. However, it is still an elusive achievement: since 1875, the first year in which all three races were in existence simultaneously, only 13 horses have accomplished the feat. The three main races in the triple crown are the Kentucky Derby which is the first race. The second race is the Preakness Stakes, and the third and final race is Belmont Stakes.

The Kentucky Derby, first held in 1875 at Churchill Downs racetrack in Louisville, is the longest-running sports event in the United States. Dubbed the “Run for the Roses,” the Derby features three-year-old thoroughbreds racing a distance of 1.25 miles. Today, some 150,000 spectators gather annually on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs for the Kentucky Derby, sometimes referred to as “the greatest two minutes in sports.” Besides placing bets on horses, Derby fans are famous for drinking mint juleps, singing “Old Kentucky Home” and wearing flamboyant hats.

The Preakness was established at Pimlico in 1873 and was named after the horse that won the Dinner Party Stakes at the track in its opening year, 1870. The Preakness was suspended at Pimlico in 1889 and run at Morris Park in Westchester county, New York, in 1890. After a hiatus of three years, the race returned in 1894 but was held at the Gravesend track in Brooklyn, New York, until 1908, whereupon the race finally returned to Maryland and settled permanently at Pimlico the following year.

The Belmont Stakes, oldest and longest of the three classic horse races (with the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes) that constitute the Triple Crown of American horse racing. The Belmont Stakes originated in 1867 and is named after the financier, diplomat, and sportsman August Belmont. It has been run at various distances and tracks in its history. Since 1905, however, it has been held at Belmont Park, near New York City, and the course has been 1.5 miles (about 2,400 metres) in length since 1926. The race is held early in June and is the final race of the Triple Crown. The Belmont has come to be known as the “Test of the Champion” by horse-racing professionals. By the time the race is run, the three-year-old Thoroughbred horses that compete in it have fully matured, and the field of competitors has been weeded out so that only the very best of the crop compete, which is why the field is usually the smallest of the three Triple Crown races.

The Triple Crown is one of the best horse races in history known for its three races. The Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and last but certainly not least the Belmont Stakes. The horse that wins the Triple crown all together will become a legend and his or her name will live forever in history like one of the very famous Triple Crown winner Secretariat aka “Big Red”. The 2021 Kentucky Derby was the 147 Kentucky Derby since it has ever existed. It has been going on for 145 years. The Preakness is 147 years old. The Belmont Stakes is the oldest race going on for 154 years. So if you want to see some fun horse races with your family and want to play some bets on who is going to win, watch the Triple Crown it is really cool and fun.